Request A Callback
Request A Callback


Close X

New Cars

All-New Ford Focus

Ford Grand C-MAX

New Ford Mustang

All-New Tourneo Courier

Ford Tourneo Connect

New Ford Tourneo Connect

New Ford Tourneo Custom

New Ford Tourneo Custom

An overview of recent changes to the MOT test​

The Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) formally VOSA, have recently made some amendments to the way in which MOT tests are carried out. The changes were introduced as part of the EU Directive 2014/45 which came into effect on 20th May 2018. Here’s all you need to know regarding the changes.​​

New failure categories

Failure categories have now been added to help identify the severity of the fault reported. Failures are rated in a traffic light format with green illustrating a minor fault, amber a major fault and red, a dangerous fault.Dangerous and major faults result in automatic fails. Minor faults may still pass however, they will be listed as advisory notices.

Additional checks

MOT testers now check additional items not previously covered including:

  • Tyres which are visibly under-inflated
  • Contaminated brake fluid
  • Fluid leaks
  • Missing brake pads or discs
  • Brake pad warning lights
  • Reversing lights
  • Daytime running lamps
  • Front fog lamps
  • Prop shafts
  • All rear drive shafts

Diesel MOT changes

The new MOT test is now stricter on emissions for diesel vehicles with a Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF). A major fault will be give, resulting in an MOT fail if, the DPF has been tampered with or smoke of any colour is emitted from the exhaust.

Find out more